Skyscrapers and String



Nestmaking and Blanket Inspiration!

As anyone who knows me will attest; I am not good at giving things away that I like. I often give things away, I might think something will suit someone that I have no use for, I dislike waste, I try not to clutter everywhere with a mess of stuff. The local charity shops find me donating regularly, and I enjoy thrifty purchases and adore vintage finds such as brooches, dresses and vases and other stylish homewares. But when it comes to the home made, the new and the cunningly wrought paintings or crafts, the hands falter, anxiety creeps in and I am quite unable to part with something made for myself.
Imagine my stress this week.
Grandad has had a horrible year, he has had to relocate twice, he must feel shockingly unsettled. I have thoughtfully furnished his new flat with everything he might need, and during the course of moving his stuff I came across two lumpy pullovers he will never wear, that I made him in my early knitting days. The two sorts of yarn were complementary, blues and turquioses, so I unravelled both sweaters and set about making him an afghan to decorate the sofa and to warm him if he feels chilly at night. This all went well. Nice yarn, happy colours, speedy and thoroughly enjoyable to make. I also learned a lot about making borders and joining colours in crochet. Handing it over I felt a familiar pang of covetousness, and decided to make something similar for myself quickly to ease the torment of giving pretty things away.
My local yarn store had most of my requirements, the final purchase was made yesterday during a most enjoyable trip to Angel with my daughter. I am all set to go and have been hooking squares making a nice start! This is obviously the trick! Grit my teeth, hand it over graciously then gift myself with something superior! I am a bit ashamed to be so avaricious. Nevermind! No-one can be perfect!

20110605-104431.jpg

Grandad’s blanket!

Below: my new blanket in progress!

20110605-104550.jpg

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * crochetime says:

    I love the colours of your new blanket!! If you award yourself for giving something away, in this way every time, you should give away more! 🙂

    Like

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
  2. * Viv says:

    What a beautiful blanket! Such a thoughtful gift for your grandad 🙂

    Like

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      So kind! Thankyou!

      Like

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

