Skyscrapers and String



Tangled Skeins

Hello friends,

It’s that weird time of year in between Christmas and New Year when everyone has eaten too much, our houses are overflowing with stuff and there are sales on, tempting us to go out into the Brr and Ugh! and get more stuff.

We are all fed up with what’s on tv, despite having a very jolly time knitting whilst watching Gone With The Wind, the scene where Scarlett is starving and sick after eating radishes (below) and she says “As God is my witness, as God is my witness they’re not going to lick me. I’m going to live through this and when it’s all over, I’ll never be hungry again. No, nor any of my folk. If I have to lie, steal, cheat or kill. As God is my witness, I’ll never be hungry again!” is my favourite passage of all time. Mind you, I do like a radish and I tried a couple of times to grow them outside this year and they were pretty horrid actually.

Some of us are heading back to work, and some, like lucky me are on holiday until after the New Year. The weather in the UK is so appalling going outdoors, which is my favourite thing to do, is of zero appeal, even with the world’s greatest selection of couture winter hand knits and multiple hat choices. I must admit, buying a severe navy coat was this years greatest cold weather purchase, as all my scarves are beautifully set off against this particular colour. Even better was the 20% off the coat from cyber Monday’s sale at M&S.

I do love M&S however, I can report yesterday it was like a jumble sale with racks of horrid gold printed velvet evening dresses which surely noone bought (?) and so many entire families with unhappy husbands and bewildered multiple children and those huge pushchairs which seat several offspring at once were everywhere, it made me quite claustrophobic however I politely navigated my way through and scored some half price goodies in Lush then sat for a quiet latte and a knit in Waterstones. Why is it that it is so calming and wonderful to be surrounded by books?

This year, I plan to sort out some extra room for myself. A nice lean to, mostly glass, with a glass roof, and glass fronted cupboards to put things in, bookshelves, fairy lights, and a nice knitting chair or two, and a small table for tea things. That would be lovely.

20121227-061605.jpg

Leave a Reply

