Skyscrapers and String



Rowan 53 Part Deux

Once more into the breach…

Has everyone had their Rowan mag yet? The theme is ugly sleeves and nipple exposure. Rectangles sewn together.

My review is up to page 26 so far, we are now on Kefalonia. This is a pretty cardigan however the sleeves yet again are clunky as is the edging. Why did they do the neck and the front edges in two parts to make an ugly join? Would this not be better as a cap sleeve cardigan?

Halkidiki is pleasant, but surely a winters jumper all long sleeves and mohair? And I suspect the intarsia has puckered the fine stripy fabric. In greys blacks and ruby shades with the nice metallic yarns available now this would be a Christmas jumper bang on trend for this current season.

Onto the next section, Ikon. The first cardigan for a man, I say the only man to wear it would be Gyles Brandreth. Vile.

Hip, is quite lovely, summery, colourful, nice lacework, well thought out. The only hit of the whole issue.

Vidal, another man’s jumper, is just weird. Can’t imagine a man wearing a linen jumper in summer, or choosing this design either, it makes my teeth go on edge.

Can I skip over Pierre and Mod, who wants to look like a presenter from Rainbow and why is mod wrinkled so badly and with a wonky hem?

Bonnie is also wrinkled, however if you ditched the ugly ribbing and chose a neutral tonal palette and made it a bit longer it could be nice, in a Brooklyn Tweed way. And not with the twee skirt!

Pixie looks pretty but it is see through and puckered where the dots are in thicker yarn.

Lambretta and Ossie are shocking. How do these designs pass?

Marilyn is homespun and drab and ugly. Why choose such a glamorous name?

Yves. Ugh! No words can describe my feelings.

Biba. More ugly sleeves. Looks like a stash busting pattern from a naff 1980’s magazine you would never wear.

The article on Sonia Delaunay is puzzling. It attempts to merge her work with Mondrian which is a complete nonsense. My daughter could write a better essay on Delaunay from the books we have at home right now back from when I was in 6th Form.

The next chapter is called Essentials. All the designs are see through, boxy, unflattering and ugly. I will spare us both going through them all.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sylvia says:

    Hi there S&S!

    Greetings from Toronto, Canada. I am so glad I happened upon your blog. I too have been a subscriber to Rowan membership for many years and I think I’m letting it lapse after the delivery of Rowan Knitting & Crochet Magazine 53.

    The patterns are too basic (more for newbie knitters than experienced Rowan junkies) and just too hideous for me. I’ve leafed thru the issue twice and I do not think there is one single pattern I would be inspired by / be bothered to knit. I am definitely more inclined to say this about their Spring/Summer issues.

    Lately I am more inspired by Knit.Wear and Sublime patterns. What about you?

    Like

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 10 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Hi Sylvia,

      Thank you for your kind comments! Am glad you agree. Last issue, I posted on Ravelry as that issue was also poor and I received a hail of hateful comments.

      A going to think about your observations, and will post again this evening as I’ve had some further thoughts which I hope Rowan will find constructive (should they read my blog lol).

      Keep in touch! Are you on Ravelry?

      All best,

      S&S

      Like

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 10 months ago
      • * Sylvia says:

        Thanks for your email! Yes I am on Ravelry (but not much of a user). My screen name is NYBorgie. Happy knitting to you in 2013!

        Like

        Posted 4 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

