Skyscrapers and String



Sashay! Ta Daah!

The weather is absolutely gorgeous today, bright sunshine.

I am not deceived however, if I didn’t have a bug I would still stay in the warm. Outside it is totally freezing!

How anyone ever moves here to live from a warmer place I cannot imagine!

Last year I churned out over a dozen shawls, some I gave away. Most were to my own devisings. And I have hats a plenty too!

Still, a British winter tests one’s knitting. After trying out all my handmades this year so far, I was dead chuffed Jon had gifted me with the yarn and pattern for Sashay by Berroco, it requires two shades of their Lodge yarn. This yarn is feisty, warm and chunky. Super to knit with!

This design requires fourteen crochet squares, and these are joined with crochet striped areas.

It took one day to make the squares, and a few hours to join them, an absolute joy of a project!

The nerve wracking bit was whether to make the fringe or not. Like Elizabeth Zimmerman, I cannot bear the thought of wasting yarn. Cutting yarn for a fringe, that tested my OCD tendencies I can tell you! Thankfully, in the making of the squares and the stripes, I did pull out some more blurgh sections of colour, so I didn’t have to cut yarn from any of the balls left over. Phew!

Once you see the final article, please let me know if You think I should make a hat to go with, I do have yarn left over…..but you also know how many things I have on the go already!!!

Anyway, enough of my prattling, you all want to see the end result don’t you!

20130208-121629.jpg

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Helen says:

    It looks awesome and very cozy.

    Like

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Anne says:

    I’ve just recently tried crochet……this is gorgeous!

    Like

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Thank you Anne!

      Like

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

