Skyscrapers and String



Shrove Tuesday and Mardi Gras!

Hello all!

It is Shrove Tuesday today, or Mardi Gras if you’re in the US.

In Britain, it is customary to give something up today as a sign of penitence, after gorging on pancakes with lemon juice (usually from a squirty plastic lemon) made crunchy and sticky with white sugar.

We have had our pancakes, they were very nice indeed! I particularly enjoy Shrove Tuesday pancakes as they remind me so much of the time I spent with my Grandparents, my Nannie at the cooker, making pancakes for me when I was little.

The nice thing for me is I live in my Grandparents house now with my family, and although both my beloved Grandparents are no longer here, I can stand in the kitchen using my Nannies Pyrex jug and remember her. I feel warm all through with their love which is still very much a part of me.

In terms of giving things up, and penitence, I am planning on having a massive de clutter. I gave up cigarettes in August last year, and still wrestle every day with living without them. I know giving up clutter is not the same as doing without something I like it will have to do. I am already on a diet. And I still miss my Grandparents so enough about giving up already.

My friend Pauline wrote on her blog about Donegal tweed yarn, so I thought I’d give it a shot. Pauline’s blog goes into more detail. The yarn was ordered this weekend and arrived this morning. Amazing service. 500 g of pure wool aran yarn for less than £30. Bargain! And it comes in 30 colours.

The yarn I have chosen is black/grey tweed. It is extremely masculine looking and I thought it might make a nice cardigan for work or for with jeans. The yarn itself is very nice to use and knits up quickly. I am using my favourite vintage boye needles.

My cat is pleased I taught myself a different way to purl, as in previous years, when I made a purl stitch my needle would swing round and poke her awake occasionally, which made me feel guilty. Not that anything would stop her sitting on me.

20130212-210043.jpg

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * paulineos says:

    I can’t wait to see the final result! P.S. what a lovely, affectionate cat, now I know what I’ve been missing…

    Like

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Thank you Pauline! Affectionate And Forgiving cat lol x

      Like

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

