Skyscrapers and String



Broadchurch and Westfield

Today I had a lie in, which is quite rare for me. I think I got up about 8 am. It’s the first day of my week off, and I wanted to make some plans for my time.

What is it about time? We waste so much of it, never have enough of it, go through life barely noticing its passing.

I sat there this morning with my pen and paper and didn’t know what to put frankly. I have several projects on the go which I will be quite happy to progress, I might even finish some of them.

Already I am rebelling against setting myself a schedule.

Today Amber and I went to Westfield. I wanted some bits and pieces for the home and some bread and fruit. I also managed to treat myself to some new makeup, from an unknown brand, which I will review for you once I have given it a good try. We had a super salad girly lunch at Giraffe, very nice indeed! Then once exhausted, we treated ourselves to some ice cream, then set off back for home.

The main excitement today in the kitchen was making home made baked beans. I have heard about them from friends previously and tried them for the first time a week or so ago at the Elk In The Woods, a lovely gastropub in Islington. I have been obsessed with recreating these and so I read up on the net everything I could from various cooking writers. I wanted to make them from dried beans, I couldn’t find navy beans so I used rose coco beans. They needed overnight soaking and rapid boiling for 15 minutes then cooking until soft.

Then it is what sauce you make. I added extra water to mine as it looked a bit thick, but I will not do this next time. I used tomatoes, treacle, cloves, celery, carrots, onion, garlic salt, bacon, mustard powder and ketchup. They were gorgeous and I will definitely make them again. If I use tinned plain beans it will still make a really nice dish, and I can vary the flavours now I know what I am doing next time.

The 8th stripe of the seed stitch wrap is nearly finished and I am now joining the teal skein. It looks really luxe.

The blue silk shawl is also coming along nicely, I did three inches of edging last night. This is now quite addictive to knit!

Last night we watched David Tennant in Broadchurch again, super acting, everyone of the characters is damaged, I still couldn’t tell you who did it, I wonder how long they’ll draw it out. Really gripping stuff!

20130402-200641.jpg

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Carol says:

    Sounds a nice day. You won’t find navy beans, as that’s the American term – we call the same beans ‘haricot’, which you will find. For next time! I love baked beans – havent made them for ages.

    Like

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Aaah! That’s what they are! Thanks Carol! They were quite a success at dinner, I’ve been instructed to go buy some jacket potatoes as His Lordship wants them again tonight. I think they might have been better if a certain child of mine hadn’t so efficiently picked out the bits of bacon before they were served! Lol! Xx

      Like

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
      • * Carol says:

        Ha ha! I have a child who can pick all the kidney beans out of a chilli con carne! It’s his dislike of beans that stops us from eating more baked beans. My husband had a phase of making his own green bacon, and I managed to snag a piece of that for the beans once – they were special. Jacket potatoes with proper baked beans sounds nice, especially in this extended winter…

        Like

        Posted 4 years, 7 months ago
      • * jengolightly says:

        I always put ordinary baked beans and sweetcorn in chilli as all mine rebel against kidney beans. Baked beans have been acceptable to all. I adore all beans, but am happy to include them in things just for my own enjoyment even if there is disapproval lol. Green bacon sounds very clever indeed! X

        Like

        Posted 4 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

