Skyscrapers and String



Star Trek, Into The Darkness With Knitting

Hello Everyone!

Today was a quiet day indoors for me, I have been sorting out the knitting patterns culled from the magazines which multiplied like Tribbles in my house, due to my obsessive compulsion with buying knitting magazines.

I would like to say the job is done, but I have only just started.

Happily, the task has drawn my attention to a whole bunch of really makeable patterns and I am excited to have made such progress, and to have so much inspiration all around!

This afternoon I finished the blue cashmere jumper and am looking forward to Jon blocking that in the morning. Then I’ll be sewing it together.

Anyhow, enough knitting stuff. Tonight we went to see the latest Star Trek film, “Into the Darkness”.
What can I say, it was action packed. The plot was super, really thrilling, with more clever weaving of the original Star Trek genre with the new cast and the glorious Benedict Cumberbatch outshone everyone else with his uber villain character.

He does this epic scene where he kills a bunch of enemies, their spaceships, one gun in each hand, swaggering, then goes all hand to hand combat and rescues Kirk, Spock and Uhura.

There was even a Tribble.

I took my knitting with me to the cinema, and knit happily through the beginning of the film, however it got so thrilling I had to stop and put the knitting away, which, needless to say, doesn’t happen very often.

A lot of people don’t like to put the time in to practice a skill, however when you knit enough you can eventually knit without looking and then you can knit in the dark. I am a Ninja of Knitting.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jan B says:

    Thought I would tell you about my experience of sorting through years of magazines to get out the most useful patterns. In my case it was my 25 years of quilting mags. I ended up with 86 3″ notebook binders with all patterns categorized and alphabetized. Talk about OCD! Glad it is done, but took four months of time and lots of sorting space. I love knitting too, but haven’t yet tackled those magazines. I think my hubby would commit me, LOL.

    Like

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Wow! Well done! I hope I can shrink my magazine stash into 5 binders! I think I’m being over optimistic as I haven’t even looked at the ones in the loft yet……

      Like

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Oh my, Jan I have so many patterns cut out so far lol! I have been scalpel in hand, tear, stack, toss all weekend long!

      Like

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
      • * Jan B says:

        It is so satisfying when done! Be sure to flag those that you want to tackle right away. HA! That list in my case was years of work! Good luck with the job!

        Like

        Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
      • * jengolightly says:

        That’s what I’m doing, it’s so exciting! Xxx

        Like

        Posted 4 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

