Skyscrapers and String



Sunday Snippings…

Hello everyone!

What lovely weather we had this morning! A bit windy, we’d planned to have a barbeque Just the three of us however the BBC weather said it would start to tip with rain at 3pm, so we opted for a roast dinner instead.

I don’t know how you guys cook your roast chicken, we have our own way of doing it, we have a very elderly enamel roaster with a lid, and we put stock cubes, fennel and carrots in the bottom with about a pint of water, then we put in the bird and season it liberally. In the oven for a three or four hour slow cook it makes a restful dinner.

We make our own seasoning sprinkle in a little pepper grinder I bought years ago in IKEA, it has a mixture of cardamom pods, chilli flakes, fennel seeds and cumin seeds and salt flakes. We grind it over everything meaty pretty much.

The first thing we did today was put the blue cashmere jumper out to be blocked. It is drying now.

I wanted to show you some pictures from around my house today, firstly the cat print I bought a week or so ago, Jon framed it for me today and it has pride of place in the front room now.

20130512-163948.jpg

Also, you can see my cutlery drawer with all my hand knitted and crocheted dishcloths. There’s quite a selection here, it makes me really happy to see them all folded away. They do last for years.

20130512-164119.jpg
Some of the ones you see here are the traditional “Grandmother’s dishcloth” pattern, this is my absolute favourite design. The first ones I made were too small, I was following an American pattern and their dishcloth cotton is worsted weight, so would turn out bigger.

Also, the yellow ones are the Tunisian crochet ones I made recently. The pastel ones are from Plymouth Yarns in the US, my dear friend Michele bought the yarn back for me as a gift. There’s also a slip stitch pattern one, that’s coral and white.

I have a selection of dishcloths to make in my Ravelry queue, mostly they feature houses in the design, one is actually house shaped with a chimney, the other has eyelets making the shape of houses. The other one I want to make has a leaf design in lace, I am quite obsessed with leaf designs.

Also, I am making a shawl, it is getting really big now, I plan to make the main body in the two colour stripes, then do a lace edging in the denim blue. Here you can see Woozle helping.

20130512-164533.jpg

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I love Grandmother Dish Cloths, they will just never die!

    Like

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      I agree! And so useful with the garter stitch scrubbing surface!

      Like

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
      • I started making them in a linen stitch for the shower and my face. It’s a bit softer but still good and bumpy!

        Like

        Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
      • * jengolightly says:

        What a super idea! I’ll try that! Thank you! Xx

        Like

        Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
      • You’re welcome, hope you like it!

        Like

        Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Jan B says:

    Maybe you could show us what the shawl you are knitting now will look like… From what I can see it looks like something I might be able to do! I am afraid I would not succeed in getting a lacy one done, and if I did, my cat would surely love to knead it to shambles!

    Like

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Thank you! I will! Let me hunt some pictures for you! Xxx

      Like

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

