Skyscrapers and String



Knitting Weekend, Crochet, Patterns and Sunshine!

Hello everyone!

I hope you are having a super weekend!

Tomorrow I am back to work after my kitchen bathroom works which afforded me three days off to muse, read and generally craft and potter about like a lady of leisure!

On Friday the workmen left at midday, I went for a swim and sat in the sun with a coffee in complete contentment. Jon met me after work and I made calamari and salmon tempura for dinner, it was very nice indeed. We watched Die Hard 5 afterwards, it is one of Jon’s favourite film series.

Yesterday I met Lesley and we had a walk round the local shops and stopped for lunch then she very kindly took me to see my Grandad’s headstone. The weather was gorgeous. I think I am finally becoming at peace regarding my Grandad, and what happened with my dreadful parents. At the class at Loop last week I mentioned it, as one of the lovely ladies there said she was considered the black sheep of her family. Everyone went quiet. I felt awfully embarrassed and wished I’d not mentioned it. I think I’ll have to put it to the back of my mind and not mention it any more. People must be bored now its been a long time.

When I came home Jon had made dinner, it was Levi Roots Puerto Rican Chicken and Rice. It was gorgeous.

Today I have taken some time out to read. I am reading Gretchen Rubin’s new book, “Happier at Home”. This is very thought provoking and interesting.

I’ve also been working hard on getting myself sorted out and finishing the knitting pattern culling and filing exercise. I have no more magazines left to cut up.

Woozle helped, as you can see here:

20130616-164850.jpg

Now I am left with an overflowing folder of favourites, and they won’t all fit.

20130616-165009.jpg
Here you can see my game of thrones shawl coming along nicely, I do love a bit of granny crochet!

20130616-165314.jpg
On the subject of favourite films, I’m putting on Sense and Sensibility now. Whoop!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Alison says:

    Never be afraid to say something you really feel – just remember people are sometimes at a genuine loss as to what to say and that is suitable, in response.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      How true! Wisely put! Thank you! X

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    Hi Jenny
    I’m a new follower since meeting you last weekend, I’m not the lady who commented but I did talk to you a little in response to your conversation about grandad and parents. Let me say firstly that I’ve thought about you a lot this week, mainly because I loved the crochet bag you had made and I thought you so generous to share pictures of shawls and names of yarn etc but also I wished you were one of my friends as I thought you were so honest and open which is admirable when one has faced adversity, but also your passion about your crafts makes you a very interesting lady! I hope we meet again on a future course and I wish you many happy blessings.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Hello Chris, how lovely of you to say that! I am overwhelmed!

      I would love to be your friend and am extremely touched and delighted that you have read my blog and that you’ve reached out so kindly when I was feeling a bit uncomfortable about possibly over sharing last week!

      Thank you so much, you’ve made my day!

      Keep in touch! Xxx

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Hi Jenny
    I will! I’ve really enjoyed reading your lovely blog today, it’s very inspiring and warm, have a great week and happy knitting!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Thank you Chris! Xx

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
  4. love the shawl and your blogg and your cat!!! keep sharing it’s upliftingxx

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Thank you Pippa! So kind! Xx

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

