Skyscrapers and String



I’m Not Fragile

Hello everyone!

It’s been quite an exciting week, and I’m sure I’d have enjoyed it more if this evil cold would pack off. I started an initiative at work for all the colleagues with various impairments and disabilities to come together to meet and form communities to support each other.

Yesterday was the first focus group, on mental health issues. I was really nervous, but it went well, phew! The meeting was lively, jolly, heartfelt and passionate. We ended up with an exciting and really worthwhile agenda to lobby for, and after the meeting My friend David set us up a forum on line, so now we can meet” virtually” all the time.

This blog saved me when my depression was at its worst because I felt so isolated. I didn’t feel like I had anyone to turn to, and needed to speak out what was going on in my head, and the blog was a virtual friend, and over time it has grown and now I have made real friends! Hey Julie, I’m looking forward to seeing you next week!

I am hoping these focus groups will stop colleagues from feeling alone and desperate as I did during my worst moments. Next week we have focus groups for colleagues with hearing and visual impairments, the week after physical and medical issues, and learning and social impairments. So there will be five in total. I’m also setting up an online chat room for folk who use assistive tech, like Jaws and Zoomtext and other software, so if a new colleague joins, they can come to the channel and get hints and tips from long term users.

Also, of uplifting note, this week my new shelving arrived. I have two little pine bookcases, they are for yarn, and I have a wrought iron bakers rack, which came this morning. I have spent all day going up and down stairs carrying books and yarn. It isn’t finished just yet, but tomorrow I will get it straight.

I am very excited also as Sunday is a knitting class at Loop with my dear friend Juju Vail. We have to take yarn and needles with us, and I confess it is stressing me out a bit trying to decide what to take….

By the time this afternoon came, I needed to get out of the house as it was driving me mad being stuck indoors. I bought some trousers and a jacket as I am being taken out for dinner next week and want to look smart, and I confess I bought some more yarn as well. Quite a bit actually. In justification, it is for Christmas presents, you can’t expect other people to like the same colours you do can you?

My plan is to turn out a bunch of mittens, slippers and hot water bottle cosies. I also found some lovely tweedy yarn in a sandy taupe shade, I am going to have me a a slouchy beanie out of that!

This morning I got up early to do the crochet castoff on Katy’s shawl. Here is the shawl, it is unblocked, but you deserve a good tah- daah!

20131004-175249.jpg

20131004-175309.jpg

20131004-175322.jpg

20131004-175340.jpg

In the focus group, we were saying how depression makes you weaker and less able to cope with difficult scenarios.

My cat is sitting on the packaging for my bakers rack here, I’m calling this photo “I’m Not Fragile” as Woozle is as tough and resilient as a creature can be!.

20131004-175608.jpg

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * alisonsye says:

    You have had a very full and productive week despite your cold. Look forward to seeing those christmas presents. Hope you feel better soon.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      Thankyou! It is going, I’m not very patient and I want to be better!! It’s Loop on Saturday and Ally Pally next week, and I miss my swimmimg!!
      BTW I’ve loved your owl and squirrel woodland cards they have been fabulous this week – well done! Xx

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
      • * alisonsye says:

        Thanks Jen, but I can’t really take the credit

        Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
  2. Wow !! I got a mention in your blog !! 🙂
    I was soo looking forward to a picture of your new bookcases and bakers rack stuffed with yarn… you are such a tease.. can’t wait to come to UK next week and steal back our sunshine !!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

