Skyscrapers and String



Knitting Corner

A few weeks ago, I likened going through my stash to a visit to my local knitting shop. I think I said “I went shopping in my stash”.

That set off a train of thought which led to me dumping a very expensive bespoke corner sofa and footstool (I think the stool alone was £700) and I then bought a smaller settee for Jon and a nice leather recliner and stool for myself.

That freed up heaps of room in my little front room and I was then able to buy my little cabinet for things to hand, then a couple of little pine shelves, then a wrought iron baker’s rack.

Today I spent the entire afternoon sorting folders and clearing another bookcase, and my “home knitting shop” is nearly ready, but Julie complained I was teasing, so this whole post is dedicated to her, and you can all see my little project corner.

Of course, Woozle helped tremendously. She did nothing but leap up and knock things over the whole time. Now she’s on my lap, looking like butter wouldn’t melt in her mouth….

Here you can see the bakers rack:

20131005-200134.jpg
Here you can see Woozle jumping off the pine shelves:

20131005-200234.jpg
Woozle is jumping off my little cupboard and trying to break my new Anthropologie mug:

20131005-200328.jpg
Here she is sidling along the radiator trying to leap up and crash everything:

20131005-200442.jpg
She gave up and jumped down thankfully:

20131005-200537.jpg
She had a little nap on my good yarn….

20131005-200625.jpg
You can see there’s more yarn on the top of my bakers rack, and one of my vases of needles, these bamboo ones are all sold as children’s needles. I knit so many small pieces, such as dishcloths, lace edgings, even sleeves that it’s worthwhile having a full set of these, particularly for train knitting.

20131005-200713.jpg
One of the interesting bits of today was me reviewing a couple of old Rowan magazines, and I found these two pretty designs in Rowan 49, hardly anyone seems to have made them or even added them as favourites on Ravelry.

The crochet wrap would benefit from a chart and a drawn schematic, if I do attempt it, I’ll have to do that myself.

20131005-201334.jpg

And here is a really interesting knitted top, when I saw the picture I thought it was crochet top, however the only person who made it appears to have made everything a bit too short, so it loses all it’s drape, which to my mind is the best bit…

20131005-202131.jpg

My new coat came today, I have 4 skeins of loft by Brooklyn Tweed in my stash which suit it perfectly. Now I will sit and look at Ravelry for some ideas!

Have a super evening! I’m at Loop tomorrow, can’t wait!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Thank you so much for the pictures, and for dedicating your post to me.. I love your ‘at home’ knitting shop.. if I ever learn to add pictures I could show you mine and my latest knits !! Although Crocheting is the ‘in-thing’ for me at the moment…

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
    • * jengolightly says:

      You’re welcome! Crocheting rocks! What are you making at the moment? X

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
  2. I am trying to do a ‘ripple’ afghan as I love the one that ‘Mother Mary’ makes on ‘Breaking Amish’ and I have also started the ‘Kaleidescope Afghan challenge’ from ‘The Crochet Crowd’ on Facebook… are you on facebook ?

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

